Short But Sweet: My Favorite Short Story Collections

My book type of choice has always been the novel, but I continually find myself being drawn to short story collections. I love absorbing a small piece of a new world, and I am always impressed with an author’s ability to deliver powerful, moving narratives in such a short length, ones that stick with you long after you have finished reading.

Over the past few years I have read many short story collections – both from a single author, and anthologized collections featuring multiple authors. Below are five of my favorite collections – to me, these are examples of strong storytelling, beautiful imagery, haunting characters, and windows into unseen worlds and unfamiliar cultures.

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Best Place on Earth by Ayelet Tsabari

This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz

What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

Leave a Reply

