Happy National Poetry Month!

It’s officially April! Which makes me happy for many reasons: it’s finally starting to feel like spring, the days are getting longer, and it is National Poetry Month!

For most of my adult life, e.e. cummings has been my favorite poet, and I would still say that today. I’ve always been drawn to his unique style, his unexpected yet deliberate word choice and placement of punctuation, and his ability to create imagery and evoke emotion that has always seemed far ahead of his time.

Over the past few years I’ve tried to read a handful of poetry collections each year, especially from newer and more contemporary poets. I love exploring the work of writers I’ve never encountered, and stepping into their own world within the pages of their work.

Some of my recent favorites include:

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace. This is definitely one of my all-time favorites. It is powerful and haunting, with an incredibly creative structure and use of voice, and flips any fairytale conventions and stereotypes on their head. This is Lovelace’s first collection, and I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. Another amazing body of work that stayed with me long after I had finished reading. Kaur tackles difficult topics with honesty and beauty. She doesn’t hold back, and somehow manages to speak the truth while reminding the reader of what’s really important in life. This collection has gotten quite a buzz since its release, and it is definitely well-deserved.

Lucky Fish by Aimee Nezhukumatathil. I had never read Nezhukumatathil’s work before, and I’m so glad that I did. She has an amazing ability to reimagine everyday objects, to consider what they might be thinking and how they might look at the world, without imposting human constructs. A highly creative and enjoyable read that I would definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

